Cilantro saving tip

Repost from a friend out west, Aarti Paarti, with an interesting tip for keeping cilantro fresh in the refrigerator for two weeks. I’m trying it now, but it seems like it might work better than my current method, which is to store flower-style in a glass with the stems submerged in a small amount of water, then cover the glass with a fabric produce bag and keep in the door of the fridge. My method seems to encourage blackened slimey gunk near the stems.

I’m not one to keep a lot of paper towels around though, so I’ll probably use a cloth napkin or kitchen towel instead with Aarti’s method. What are other people doing?

This entry was posted in Produce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cilantro saving tip

  1. Pilar says:

    Hi guys,

    I have two methods:
    1. Just keeping it in a closed plastic bag with a paper napkin/towel. I didn’t pay attention as to how long cilantro keeps this way, but I think it could get to up to a week.
    2. Wash the cilantro and place it in an open container filled with water (it also works for many greens, such as romaine lettuce). This works for at least a week; it might keep even longer, I just didn’t try as I try to eat vegetables as fresh as possible.

    Yesterday I heard about how to “re-use” scallions when you don’t use the white part. You just have to leave that white part in a glass of water at room temperature and the green ends will grow again. I will be giving it a try these days.

  2. jillwoodward says:

    Thanks Pilar for the suggestion with the scallions. I happen have some now so maybe I’ll try it too.
    Also, since I wrote the post about cilantro storage, I discovered the best method so far–my airtight tiffin container. We sell these metal containers at the co-op, and I usually them for leftover storage. However I discovered that the air/liquid proof seal is ideal for cilantro, wrapped with a damp cloth or paper towel. It has kept for over 2 weeks! Some leaves will yellow, so I try to get rid of them before they darken and slime up, this seems to protect the bunch.

Leave a Reply

